Am I Stupid? (Please do not answer that.)

I am reading Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I am having trouble keeping track of all the characters, as the novel revolves around three generations of a family and their neighbors. I am beginning to think that people were smarter back in the days when novels like this were written. They must have been more focused, more intellectually calm and less intent upon plowing through books at the greatest possible pace.

It bothers me that I am better at comprehending computer documentation than I am at retaining all the nuances of a novel. I now intend to try and read more slowly, distract myself with fewer distractions, and think more deeply about those books I do choose to read.

I appear to have become stupid at a rate commensurate with the progress of entertainment technology. I intend to resist this trend, and hopefully to reverse it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

